To be frank, insurance, no matter where you are is quite complicated and not the easiest thing to understand. This article seeks to clarify one aspect of Florida insurance coverage called Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Need Legal Help Now?
The most important part of the required benefits portion is to note the section that I bolded “struck by the motor vehicle”. Meaning the patient or yourself only gets afforded PIP coverage if they were in a motor vehicle accident. So how does the requirements and the HICF coincide?
One common reason for PIP claim denials is that the insurance company has gotten the wrong impression from you. If your insurer believes that you are being greedy and are not actually as injured as you claim, they will not react in a positive way.
You will have many things to think about in the days, weeks, and months that follow an auto accident. You may wonder who is going to pay for your medical expenses, your vehicle repairs, and your lost wages.
In some cases, victims are able to recover the amount from the at-fault driver’s insurer, but in other situations victims are required to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party to obtain compensation.
This article is the second in a two-part series about what drivers should know if they are in a car accident in the state of Florida. With almost 250,000 car crashes reported every year, per the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, it is best to be prepared for the possibility that one of those car crashes will happen to you or someone you love.
Anthony Castelli's Free ebook Lets You in on Insurance Company Tricks to Know after Suffering a Personal Injury
Mr. Castelli co-wrote this book with 14 other attorneys across the country, and it has helped thousands of injured victims each year protect their rights when dealing with insurance companies.
These companies know that the people who hear or see their ads are the same people who will eventually serve on the juries that make the decisions about whether to award, or not award, compensation to an injury victim.
If you are injured, legal representation can work on your behalf to lessen the time, energy, money, and emotional toll you will exert in getting back to normal. You might be wondering is a lawyer would work on your behalf?
Of course, we all know this is a possibility each and every time we drive, but what will the financial costs really be if we are involved in an unfortunate collision? The answer can be broken down into four categories: Medical Bills, Lost Wages, Diminished Earning Capacity, and Pain and Suffering.
If you have the minimum liability coverage, the person wounded will only receive $25,000 from your insurance policy, no matter how injured they are. If more than one person is hurt in the same accident, the policy will pay out no more than $50,000 for the total accident.
Florida is one of several states that has a “no fault” system of car insurance. Florida law requires that all drivers carry PIP coverage. This allows a driver, even if the accident was caused by him or her, to receive medical benefits for treatment of injuries sustained in the car accident.
If you or a loved one get in a car wreck, there are a few things you should keep in mind in order to protect your health and your interests. Taking the proper steps can increase the possibility of obtaining full compensation for your injuries.
You should plan on keeping records and copies of everything when you are going through any legal situation; an injury case is no different. Again and again, the same information will be needed, you’ll need to recall dates from a year ago, or you’ll need the name of a specific doctor.
An issue often arising in personal injury settlements is a health insurance company’s right to subrogation. In Texas, there are two types of subrogation: those existing by contract and those in equity or law.
Also, it shows passengers suffer the most harm with severe injury. Furthermore, 70 percent of fatalities in car crashes happened with a passenger in the vehicle.
When a person suffers an accident injury they often wonder what amount of compensation their case is worth. The money a claim is worth can vary. The insurance company uses a formula to determine the value of a claim.
In some serious accidents, you may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver. Because the benefits available to you under your PIP coverage are capped at $10,000, drivers who are more seriously injured will have to seek full reimbursement through other means than their own insurance company.
There are two points that I often find clientsneed clarification on—or didn’t know about at all. They are the 14-day rule and the Emergency Medical Condition rule.
A gratuitous payment is, essentially, any payment made by an insurance company on a claim that should not have been paid, or paid over the amount that is “reasonable”.
In many cases, the protection offered to consumers by Florida’s no-fault Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance system is simply not enough.
Florida is one of the several states across the country that requires its drivers to maintain mandatory minimum insurance coverage for purposes of covering personal injury in the event of an action. Personal Injury Protection, better known as PIP, is Florida’s minimum no-fault insurance law.
Of course, automobile insurance is designed to provide a financial safeguard for drivers. However, even with insurance, a driver involved in an accident may still worry about the financial impact from the accident. Just how protected will a driver be?
- Page 1
- next ›