10 Best Gifts for the New Teen Driver

Copyright: piksel / 123RF Stock Photo

Have a new teen driver in your life? Then we’ve got a great list that gives them the gift of increased safety, and you, their parent, the gift of peace of mind. Just kidding! I am not a doctor and cannot prescribe you Xanax. Good luck with that!

If you’re like me, you’re betting on autonomous vehicles to take over the roads before your children are old enough to be offered driver’s ed (save us, Robot Overlords!). If you’re like me and hoping for benevolent machines, but your children are already in their mid-teens and you’re looking down the barrel of one of them being legally allowed to operate a vehicle, my heart goes out to you in your time of nightmarish anxiety. Let’s pick out some gifts for the new driver in your life.

1. Roadside Emergency Kit. This is the big ticket item, and it should have all the essentials: jumper cables, tow rope, air compressor, first aid kit, and so one. This one has 90 pieces, half of which are in the first aid kid, so your teen will be well-prepared when they hit the road. You, on the other hand, should probably just have a box of wine ready to bust out because this emergency kit will do very little for your nerves.

2. Travel Blanket. Whether you live an area with severe winters or in the middle of the desert with cold nights, having a spare blanket stowed away in the car is a good idea should your child be stranded by car trouble or stuck for hours in a pileup. I like this kind of travel blanket because it rolls up so compactly and has a little carrying bag to keep it protected from back seat dog hair and chip dust. Then it will be nice and clean and ready for your sweet child to wrap themselves up in while they spend the night alone, stranded in the desert, but cozy and warm and thinking of how grateful they are for parental forethought. Don’t think about anything else the blanket can be used for.