3-year-old died after they were ejected from their vehicle in a three-vehicle collision at the intersection of South 17th Street and Clay Avenue in Waco, Texas
Accident Date:Thu, 05/18/2023
Under Texas law, drivers must secure child passengers under age 8 in a “child passenger safety seat system” unless that child is taller than 4-foot-9. A driver who fails to follow this law could face fines of up to $250.
n 1975 infants – babies under 12 months of age – had a much higher child passenger fatality rate per capita than children of other ages, but this gap narrowed over the years as rear-facing infant restraint laws went into place.